Digital Tools and Uses - Congress

The second international Digital Tools & Uses Congress is a multidisciplinary conference devoted to study the uses and development of digital tools. It aims at assembling five interrelated symposia.

When: -
Where: Hammamet - Tunisia


Digital Tools & Uses - 2020   >   Tracks and Subtopics   >   WS.3 | Web studies   >  

Web Studies 3

3rd edition of the international conference on Web Studies

Track chairs:
• Everardo Reyes (Université Paris 8, France)
• Mark Bernstein (Eastgate Systems, USA)

Emergent Uses of the Web in Multicultural Contexts

Short description
The international conference on Web Studies is a multidisciplinary peer-reviewed scientific gathering that investigates the World Wide Web as an object of inquiry. It conceives the Web as an expansive entity: an extended space that reaches every domain of life. Seen from different perspectives and disciplines, the components of the Web can be seized as data structures, algorithmic processes, visual surface, cultural uses, or artistic expressions.

Web Studies was initiated in 2010 and the first conference, WS.1, was organized at Tecnológico de Monterrey (Mexico). In 2018, the second edition, WS.2, took place in Paris (MSH Paris Nord), in cooperation with ACM SIGWEB. This third edition of the international conference, WS.3, will be celebrated in Tunisia (Hamamet).

Call for papers
WS.3 calls for communications, posters, demos, and artworks that interrogate the current panorama of web-based tools in multicultural contexts.


Tools, Uses, Methods: Social, Politics, Art, Design:
Algorithms for the WebAesthetics of Web
APIs and Web ServicesDeep Web
Automatic Web GenerationCritical and Radical Web
Green WebCultural Analytics
Machine/Deep LearningData Science
Mobile WebData Visualization
Software Applications for the WebOnline Digital Humanities
Web-based Programming ParadigmsPolitical Web
Web-oriented Programming Languages    Social Web
Web as PlatformSemiotics of Web and Interfaces
Web ProtocolsWeb Design
Visual and Graphical Web
Web, biology and natural sciences
Legal and Ethical issues in Web Studies

Submission Types

• Short and Long Papers
• Posters and Demos
• Online Exhibition

Submission Format

Please use the ACM Master Template to prepare your proposal.

Important: At this first step you are required to submit as anonymous author for peer-reviewing. That is, leave in blank the Author and Affiliation text of the template. If your proposal is accepted, you will then prepare a final version with your full name and contact details.

Submission System

Please send your proposals via Easychair:

Review Process

All submissions will follow a blind peer-review process. At least two different members of the scientific committee will review each paper. The selection criteria is based on originality, accordance to the theme and topics, scientific/technical contribution, and clarity of presentation.

Authors will receive notification of acceptance on June 29th 2020. If your paper is accepted you will be solicited to prepare the camera-ready version for its publication.

International Co-Chairs
• Everardo Reyes (Université Paris 8, France)
• Mark Bernstein (Eastgate Systems, USA)

Scientific Committee & Honorary Reviewers
• Pau Alsina (Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain)
• Johanna Drucker (University of California Los Angeles, USA)
• Federica Frabetti (University of Roehampton, London, UK)
• Matthew Fuller (Goldsmiths, University of London, UK)
• Jacques Ibanez-Bueno (Université Savoie Mont-Blanc, France)
• Sarah Labelle (Université Paris 13, France)
• Cristina Marras (CNR-ILIESI, Italy)
• Stuart Moulthrop (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA)
• Jean-Christophe Plantin (London School of Economics and Political Science, UK)
• Piero Polidoro (LUMSA, Italy)
• Vincent Puig (Director of IRI Centre Pompidou, France)
• Isaac Rudomin (Centro de Ciencias de la Complejidad, UNAM, Mexico)
• Giancarlo Ruffo (Università di Torino, Italy)
• Marta Severo (Université Paris Nanterre, France)
• Mirko Tobias Schäfer (Utrecht University & Utrecht Data School, Netherlands)
• Laura Shackelford (Rochester Institute of Technology, USA)
• Matteo Treleani (Université Côte d’Azur, France)
• José Luis Vera (Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México, Mexico)